The EA boundaries and important features collected during the field mapping work were annotated on field maps, which were later digitized to facilitate automated production of census maps required for enumeration process. The digital process of census maps enabled the subsequent development of a geographical information database, which contains polygons (commonly referred to as shapefiles) and related information.

The National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) intends to provide a geo-database with spatial and non-spatial information at five levels of geography, to facilitate presentation of data from censuses and other surveys. These levels are regional (level one), district (level two), ward/shehia (level three), villages/mitaa (level four) and enumeration areas (level five). Levels one and two have been put onto the NBS website in June, 2013 for use by various stakeholders, and the web-page will be continually updated to include other levels of shapefiles when they are ready for use. As mentioned above, the maps developed at all levels were meant to facilitate operations of the 2012 Population and Housing Census of Tanzania, including the dissemination programs of the census data and information.

This data is therefore in a continual state of development and improvement and thus the user of the shapefiles should keep this fact in mind. Users are invited to provide feedback on issues pertaining to content and clarity of the shapefiles posted onto this website in order to assist NBS in this process of improvement.

Layer properties

Data type: Shapefile feature class
Geometry: Polygon
Geographic Coordinate System: GCS Arc 1960
Datum: Arc 1960
Prime Meridian: Greenwich
Angular Unit Degree


Click to download the 2012 Wards Shapefiles